Description

The Tour du Calvados is organized by Rétro Moto Côte de Nacre and celebrates its 10th anniversary this year. The aim of the event is to enable participants to discover Normandy over 3 days, a journey of around 500km based solely on the roadbook given to them in the evening. The event is reserved for pre-1965 motorcycles, and we're expecting 80 riders plus accompanying persons. This year, in addition to Begles and the English, 22 French departments will be represented in Luc sur mer: Hautes Alpes, Ardennes, Calvados, Charentes, Côte d'Armor, Dordogne, Eure, Eure et Loire, Finistère, Indre et Loire, Maine et Loire, Manche, Mayenne, Morbihan, Nord, Oise, Orne, Bas Rhin, Sarthe, Seine Maritime, Essonne, Val-D'oise.

Stage 1: Friday, May 17, 2024. You won't be able to miss it - it's the 80th anniversary of the Allied landings on French soil. So we've chosen to show you some of the sites along roads that aren't too difficult for our old machines. We've tried to avoid the tourist traps a little by taking you to places we find beautiful or really interesting. We'll have lunch in the village hall in Ravenoville (Utah Beach), facing the sea and just a few kilometers from Sainte Mère Eglise, famous for its parachutist (at the risk of disappointing you, probably a legend.) hanging from the roof of the church. You'll be able to see him, though, as we've asked him to wait for us in his awkward position until after lunch. To reach these destinations, we'll keep as close to the sea as possible, wherever possible. A few yards from the very important American cemetery (9387 graves), the Overlord museum in Colleville sur mer awaits us for a visit. Given the distance remaining after this, it would be best to limit the length of your visit. Sainte Mère l?église Visit to the Overlord museum in Colleville/mer. Lunch will be served in the Ravenoville village hall.

Stage 2: Saturday May 18, 2024

Visit to Château de Falaise With this new stage to Falaise and the visit of its castle, a mini history summary is in order. William the Conqueror is one of the key figures of Normandy. William was a descendant of Rollon, the fierce and violent Viking chieftain who had settled at the mouth of the Seine 100 years earlier. According to Viking tradition, William's father had several wives, one of whom, Arlette, from Falaise, gave birth to William in 1027 in their castle in that town (earning him the nickname of bastard, as he was contrary to Catholic precepts). To put an end to Viking plundering and invasions, the King of France (Charles III) signed a treaty with Rollon, who converted to Catholicism and received Neustria, which was to become the Duchy of Normandy. William lost his father at the age of 8 and found himself at the heart of plots orchestrated by pretenders to power. After escaping assassination attempts, he joined forces with the King of France (Henry 1) to defeat the rebellious Norman barons norman barons. It was the battle of Val es dune (Vimont, 20kms from Caen). William had made Caen and its castle his main residence. William wished to marry his 3rd cousin (Mathilde), but the Pope was not in favor refused, unless? They built 2 abbeys in Caen, which they did (the Men?s Abbey, where William is buried, and the Ladies? Abbey, where Matilda is buried). In 1066, Edward, King of England, died without an heir. He had promised his throne to several people, including William, to whom he sought refuge for 30 years to escape Sven 1 er of Denmark, who had driven his father from the throne of England from the throne of England. William, certain of his rightful claim, set sail with his army (from Dives sur mer), conquered England england to become king after the victorious battle of Hasting. Lunch will be served in Falaise, a town that suffered enormously during the war, with memories of the Falaise pocket whose terrible fighting took place just a few kilometers away. We return to the Laize valley, which we follow for a few kilometers, passing by the kilometers, passing the old tannery dryers in the hamlet of Gauguin (you can stop there), then cross the then cross the Orne on the edge of the Suisse Normande to head due north across the the Caen plain towards the sea.

Stage 3: Sunday, May 19, 2024.

This third day is a first: no roadbook! We will cross the city of Caen the visit to the Abbey was not authorized due to the large number of people. However, we did cross the city, with the kindness of the municipal police, on our way to Vieux la Romaine head for Vieux la Romaine, where an archaeologist will welcome us in 2 groups to comment on recent discoveries of this ancient city of Aregenua, the vanished Roman capital. Small groups of bikers with a "guide" in the lead will slowly make their way through the town, built on marshland through the city, built on marshland still present beneath the buildings. Just take a look look at the Church of St. John, which sank as the never-finished lantern tower rose tower. The war had nothing to do with it, it was just the way it was before. We pass the castle built by William the Conqueror, then the Gothic church of Saint Pierre where the river that used to flow past the church has been canalised and covered over to create a boulevard. On to the Men?s Abbey, now the the town hall. It is in this church that William the Conqueror william the Conqueror (or what remains of him remains, as the revolutionaries desecrated desecrated). New direction "la prairie", Caen?s green lung green lung of the city of Caen and on to Vieux la romaine.

The event ends at midday on Sunday, with the motorcycles on display and the riders on hand to answer any questions you may have.

Opening hours


from 17 mai 2024 to 19 mai 2024 from 08:00 to 17:00

Prices

Contact / Find

Go to top Skip to content

Description

Le Tour du Calvados est organisé par le Rétro Moto Côte de Nacre et fête son 10e anniversaire cette année. Cette manifestation a pour but de faire découvrir notre Normandie sur 3 jours, soit un périple d'environ 500km uniquement au roadbook remis le soir aux participants. Cette manifestation est réservée aux motos d'avant 1965, nous auront 80 pilotes plus les accompagnants. Cette année en plus de Begles et des Anglais, ce sont 22 départements Français qui seront représentés à Luc sur mer, Hautes Alpes, Ardennes, Calvados, Charentes, Côte d'Armor, Dordogne, Eure, Eure et Loire, Finistère, Indre et Loire, Maine et Loire, Manche, Mayenne, Morbihan, Nord, Oise, Orne, Bas Rhin, Sarthe, Seine Maritime, Essonne, Val-D'oise.

Etape 1 : Vendredi 17 mai 2024. Vous ne pourrez pas y départements couper, c’est l’année du 80e anniversaire du débarquement des troupes alliées sur le sol français. Nous avons donc choisi de vous faire découvrir quelques sites au détour de routes pas trop difficiles pour nos vieilles machines. Nous avons essayé d’éviter un peu les pièges à touristes en vous faisant visiter des lieux que nous trouvons beaux où vraiment intéressants. Nous déjeunerons à la salle des fêtes de Ravenoville (Utah Beach) face à la mer et à quelques petits kilomètres de sainte Mère église, connue pour son parachutiste (au risque de vous décevoir, probablement une légende.) accroché sur le toit de l’église. Vous pourrez toutefois le voir, on lui a demandé de nous attendre dans sa fâcheuse position jusqu’après le repas. Pour atteindre ces destinations, nous longerons la mer au plus prés, chaque fois que c’est possible. A quelques mètres du très important cimetière Américain (9387 tombes), le musée Overlord de Colleville sur mer nous attend pour une visite. Compte tenue de la distance restante après ceci, il serait préférable de limiter la durée de votre visite. Sainte Mère l’église Visite du musée Overlord à Colleville/mer. Le repas sera servi dans la salle communale de Ravenoville.

Etape 2 : Samedi 18 mai 2024

Visite du Château de Falaise Avec cette nouvelle étape vers Falaise et la visite de son château, un mini résumé d’histoire s’impose. Dans les personnages clé de la Normandie, Guillaume le conquérant tient une bonne place. Guillaume est un descendant de Rollon, rude et violent chef viking établi 100 ans plus tôt à l’embouchure de la Seine. Selon les traditions Viking, le père de Guillaume possède plusieurs femmes dont l’une, Arlette, originaire de Falaise met au monde Guillaume en 1027 dans leur château de cette ville. (Ce qui lui vaut le surnom de bâtard car contraire aux préceptes catholiques). Il faut dire que pour mettre fin aux pillages et invasions des vikings, le roi de France (Charles III) signa un traité avec Rollon qui se convertit au Catholicisme et reçu la Neustrie qui deviendra le duché de Normandie. Guillaume perd son père à l’âge de 8 ans et se retrouve au cœur de complots orchestrés par des prétendants au pouvoir. Après avoir échappé à des tentatives d’assassinat, il s’allie au roi de France (Henri 1 er ) pour défaire les barons normands rebels. C’est la bataille du Val es dune (Vimont à 20kms de Caen) Guillaume avait fait de Caen et son château sa résidence principale. Guillaume souhaite se marier avec sa Cousine au 3-ème degré (Mathilde), ce qui n’est pas du goût du pape qui refuse à moins…. Qu’ils ne construisent 2 abbayes à Caen, ce qu’ils firent. (L’abbaye aux hommes où est enterré Guillaume et l’abbaye aux dames où est enterrée Mathilde). En 1066 Edouard, Roi d’Angleterre meurt sans héritier. Il avait promis son trône à plusieurs personnes dont Guillaume auprès duquel il trouva refuge durant 30 ans pour fuir Sven 1 er du Danemark qui avait chassé son père du trône d’Angleterre. Guillaume, certain de son bon droit, embarque avec son armée (à partir de Dives sur mer), part conquérir l’Angleterre pour en devenir roi après la bataille victorieuse d’Hasting. Le repas sera servi à Falaise, ville qui a énormément souffert durant la guerre, on se rappellera de la poche de Falaise dont les combats terribles se sont déroulés à quelques kilomètres. Nous reprendrons le chemin du retour pour rejoindre la vallée de la Laize que nous suivrons sur quelques kilomètres, passant entre autre devant les anciens séchoirs de tannerie au hameau de Gauguin (vous pouvez vous y arrêter) puis traverser l’Orne en bordure de la Suisse normande pour remonter plein nord à travers la plaine de Caen en direction de la mer.

Etape 3 : Dimanche 19 mai 2024.

Pour ce troisième jour, c’est une première, pas de roadbook ! Nous traverserons la ville de Caen, La visite de l’Abbaye ne nous a pas été autorisée en raison de notre trop grand nombre de personnes. Qu’importe, nous traverserons quand même la ville avec la bienveillance de la police municipale pour nous diriger vers Vieux la Romaine où une archéologue nous accueillera en 2 groupes afin de commenter les récentes découvertes de cette ancienne ville d’Aregenua, capitale romaine disparue. Des petits groupes de motards avec un « guide » en tête se mettront en place pour traverser lentement la ville construite sur des marécages toujours présents sous les constructions. Il suffit de regarder l’église Saint Jean qui s’enfonçait au fur et à mesure que montait la tour-lanterne jamais terminée. Les raisons de la guerre n’y sont pour rien, c’était comme cela avant. Nous passerons devant le château fort de Guillaume le Conquérant, puis de l’église gothique Saint Pierre dont la rivière qui passait à son chevet a été canalisée et recouverte pour créer un boulevard. Direction l’Abbaye aux hommes, devenue l’hôtel de ville. C’est dans cette église qu’est enterré Guillaume le conquérant (ou ce qu’il en reste car les révolutionnaires ont profané sa tombe). Nouvelle direction « la prairie » poumon vert de la ville de Caen et en route pour Vieux la romaine.

Fin de la manifestation le dimanche midi, les motos seront exposées et les pilotes n'hésiteront pas à répondre à vos questions.

Ouverture et horaires


du 17 mai 2024 au 19 mai 2024 de 08:00 à 17:00

Tarifs

Gratuit pour tous

Contacter / Localiser

Aller en haut de page Skip to content